Over the past couple of weeks, I’ve told a lot of people that I’d be blogging my experiences in transitioning from corporate life to farm life here, so it seemed like a good time to get started.

At the moment, I’m in limbo. All best-laid plans eventually get thrown in the air, and I’m grateful mine got as far down the pike as possible before completely reversing on me. The job I left in April asked me to leave two weeks early to save money, and the farm job asked me to start a week later due to rain (now, May 9). For those doing the math at home, that’s three weeks’ pay (about $1600) I suddenly didn’t have–better known as “the entirety of my savings I was counting on having when everything else goes wrong in the next few months.” Welcome to the realities of farming and hourly work.

But I’m not easily beaten. While none of the temp hourly work I looked into for this week panned out, I have enough money to survive, and am doing my best rain dance to pray that I can at least work enough to make $500/mo or so this summer on the farm. If you know any anti-hurricane and anti-thunderstorm dances, please contribute. Maybe throw in an anti-high-gas-prices dance while you’re at it.

So that’s how I got here. I haven’t worked in three weeks, which I have to say has been kind of a nice break. I’m currently in Fairfax still, with a quarter of my possessions in storage at my mom’s house in Germantown, MD, a quarter at the farmhouse in Purcellville and the rest with me waiting to go. Right now I’m filling my days with finishing up odds and ends like going through my book collection to see what should be donated and what I want to read this summer (for lo, there will be much reading), wondering where my waterproof pants got to, and running and sleeping as much as possible. There are early mornings ahead.

Even if things haven’t started out quite how I would’ve liked, it’s still nice to be moving forward with purpose, working on something I’m really invested in for the first time in a long time. In my last few days with a TV and cable service, I’ve been watching as much as I can of a) hockey, but also b) Game of Thrones, and I keep coming back to something in that story that they say often…..
Winter is Coming.

I’ll be ready.

