Last week got away from me, but the six returns triumphantly!

Interpol – Rest My Chemistry
The Amirian brothers, friends of mine of the Crossfit persuasion, adopted Interpol’s title “pace is the trick” as one of their training mantras around the time Our Love to Admire came out. I always thought it was funny in a way, and always offered the need to Rest My Chemistry (“minus the whole cocaine part”) in retort. The exchange happened again recently via Facebook and prompted me to dig out the album. Haters gunn’ hate, but it reminds me of late, hazy nights driving home from Silverlake alone.

Doves – Sea Song

Dreary rainy days are always made better by this track. Also an on-repeat-while-working candidate.

Ned’s Atomic Dustbin – Saturday Night
I almost prefer this cover to the original. Have no idea what made me think of it, but back in the playlist it went. (oh…and it was on the So I Married an Axe Murderer soundtrack, as you may guess from the video.)

INXS – What You Need

I think I heard a sliver of the chorus in a commercial or something last week and it implanted in my brain.

Concrete Blonde – Days and Days
“Like every heart to beat before
and every wave to kiss a shore
I’m not the first, I’m not the last…
and soon to be your past
But every morning when the light
comes creeping in around my eyes
another future falls behind
the one I had I mind”

The Knife – Marble House

I was thinking about a former co-worker with similar music taste, which led me to remember an exchange between her and an older, goofy and fatherly co-worker of ours when this track was playing in the office one afternoon (imagine this said in a heavy filipino accent): “WEEZA. What is this you’re playing? It sounds like…HALLOWEEN. What is it, Halloween?”

